Peeping Eyes: Project 8 of 52

In our little abode, R and I have a teeny bathroom window.  I like having a window in the bathroom because it lets light and fresh air in.  However, this window has a flaw.  It overlooks a neighboring parking lot, not to mention it is directly across from another buildings window.

Case in point:

DSCF1704

and let’s not forget the window across the way.

DSCF1705

Don’t let the screen deceive you.  It is a clear shot into the bathroom and to where I hop naked into the shower.  Who knows what kind of Peeping Tom or Voyeur is out there with high-powered, long-range binoculars.  Leering at me while I try to undress behind the shower curtain.

So I came up with an idea.  I would creat a screen to place on top of the screen.

I started out by measuring the window.  With dimensions in hand, I used some leftover lace my mom gave to me.  I liked this lace, because the pattern was dense.

I added a half inch to each side to allow for a seam and cut.

DSCF1698

I then got to sewing, nothing fancy.  I wanted a simple panel that I could tack up to the window.

DSCF1701

Once the panel was finished, I used a few beads of hot glue to glue the panel in place.  And just like that it was up.

DSCF1708

Now, I know you are probably thinking, “Lady you can still see through it.”  Exactly.  I wanted light to still shine through without it shining on all my lady bits.  I feel the lace makes the window translucent and not transparent, which is what I wanted.

DSCF1720

You too can keep those peeping eyes at bay with a little lace.  And if you don’t have any on hand, check your local thrift stores.  They sometimes have it.

Later.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

