Ring-O!

So my sister bequethed unto me a bunch of jewelry she didn’t want anymore.  I gladly accepted all the baubles.  Most of it was costume jewelry or parts of costume jewelry.

While rummaging through the contents I came across multiple rings of varying sizes and it reminded me of this tutorial from HonestlyWTF.  I liked the macrame and perhaps I will make one with the other rings I have left, but for these pieces I went the easy route.

DSCF1672

Here is how I made mine.  I simply cut 4 lengths of waxed cord. 2 for a bracelt and 2 for a necklace.  Then I created a loop by folding the cord in half and placed it under the ring.  I then folded the cut ends over the ring and passed them through the loop, pulling to secure the cord to the ring.  I did this for each cord.

I used crimps to hold the loose ends of the cord together, then attached jump rings and a lobster claw clasp to both the bracelet and the necklace.

Super easy and super quick.

DSCF1691

I think I will wet down the necklace and slightly stretch it to remove the kinks in the cord.  I get a kick out of making jewelry from found items.  What about you?

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

