The 24 Hour Quilt…NOT:Project 6 of 52

DSCF1676

I first stumbled upon this quilt through Pinterest.  I’m pretty sure it was this blog, because the images look familiar.  I have a tendency to store ideas in my head and then forget where I originally found them.  It’s something I should work on.

Remember in my post from last week, I stated my inability to find quality sheets.  Well this is another project to come out of all of those sorry execuses for bed linens.

I loosely followed the instructions from the original source.  I have a hard time following instructions.  I like to figure things out myself, no matter how many headaches I endure.

First I threw the sheets in the dryer to toss out some wrinkles.  Then I sandwiched the batting in between the sheets and pinned in place.

To add some color, to the very neutrual sheets, I choose bright colored thread that I thought would complement the quilt.  I used different colors for the top thread and the bobbin thread.

DSCF1677

And let me just stop right there.  Once i started sewing, I immediately began cursing the darn thing.  24 hour quilt my a**, maybe for a quilting expert, but not this novice.  I grunted, I yelled, I said words that should not be repeated on this blog.  I was forcing the thick quilt through my little machine praying that I wouldn’t break it.  I soon regretted ever taking on this project.  I was about to scrap the whole thing, when my mom said “well, it can just be a blanket for you and R.  No one has to see it”, except you fine people.  So I soldiered on.

DSCF1680

Then came the binding.  I went back and forth on whether or not I should make my own binding.  After the time I had with the quilt, I went for store bought bias tape.  I picked a bright teal/turquois that I thought would look good against the brown.

Here are some great tutorials on binding quilts, which I only loosely followed.  I would suggest following these if you want better quality.  To sew the back side of the binding I used a zigzag stitch, I did not hand sew it.  This was supposed to be a quick quilt, so I wasn’t down with handstitching the thing.

Heather Bailey

Prudent Baby

Now that it is all said and down, I love the quilt.  It may not look that put together but it sure is warm.

DSCF1681

P.S. I sort of feel guilty calling it a quilt. I’m sure I am insulting all the fine quilters out there by calling this paultry blanket a quilt.

 

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “The 24 Hour Quilt…NOT:Project 6 of 52

  1. April says:

    Did you say you used bed sheets? That is probably where you went wrong — I’ve had two projects where I inadvertently used bed sheets (100% cotton can come out okay but not recommended). I’d gotten a stash of fabric from someone and didn’t realize the material was from bedding.

    I’ll say it now — just don’t do it. My machine couldn’t feed it right. I had to reinforce every seam and I got weird bunches (or puckering) where I didn’t want them. It just doesn’t make a tidy quilt and it won’t “stick” to the batting the way cotton does so you’ll have more difficulty with puckering and issues like that.

    Good luck with your future projects

Leave a Reply

