Rub-A-Dub-Dub:Project 5 of 52

While getting readying to move, it made me cringe thinking of all the other little things R and I would have to buy, like curtains, rugs, lamps, etc.  So I decided to M.O.O. (haha moo, Make Our Own, a variation of Make Your Own) with some of these items.

For project 5 of 52, I don’t have any before pictures.  But imagine a white queen size top sheet, and that is what the before would look like.  I seem to have the worst luck when it comes to buying bed linens.  The pockets are too deep and I end up swimming in excess fabric, or the sheets pill up after a week, or the elastic gives out and I’m sleeping on the bare mattress.  Ugh.  See my misfortune when it comes to sheets?

As a result I have a plethora of unused linens hanging about, so I decided to repurpose them.  First up is a shower curtain, hence the Rub-A-Dub-Dub, but there aren’t three men in this gal’s tub.  Just one handsome man.

DSCF1651

I used one of my mom’s shower curtains as a template to gage the length and the distance between the ring holes.  I left my sheet it’s original width, because the less hemming I had to do the better.  I wanted this easy-peasy.  I could have gone a little shorter, but at the time I made this I did not have the shower dimensions.  So I erred on the side of caution and left it a little longer than the template.  I can always go back and shorten it, but for now it stays.

DSCF1653

Dang! This pic is grainy.

I made holes using the button hole stitch on my sewing machine.  I could have used plastic grommets to give it a little more strength, but I was lazy and didn’t feel like going to the fabric store.  The button holes are durable and I suspect will hold up.

And there you have it.  One more item saved from the landfill.  Peace.

Tagged ,

One thought on “Rub-A-Dub-Dub:Project 5 of 52

  1. i don’t know why…but this post made me laugh. something about you rolling around on a bare mattress…it just made me giggle…i have a fitted sheet that does the same thing….the elastic isn’t tight enough and after one or two nights the one top corner closest to me comes loose and i wake up half on the sheet and half on the bare mattress and usually with lola’s butt in my face to top it all off. xxoxxooxoxxo

Leave a Reply

