Craft Projects

I have been neglectful the past week.  Visitors and activities can be a good distraction, so I put a few things on the back burner, one of which was this blog.  But I am back.

Inspired by the recent change in season, I created and upcycled a couple autumn themed projects using warm colors and natural looking elements.

The first is a leather arrow barrette.  I had some leather scraps left over from a jacket I repurposed and I did not want them to go to waste.  This is what you will need.

Disregard the felt in the photo and the extra floss, I started out with something else in mind.  First cut a rectangle out of the leather and sew it to the barrette.  This will serve as a base for the arrow.  Draw and cut out an arrow slightly larger than the barrette.  Using your choice of floss and with a few straight stitches attach the arrow to the base and you have your leather arrow barrette.

For the second project I took some bangles and wrapped them with floss in different fall colors and patterns. I left the silver ones alone to maintain a natural element and also add some texture.

Not that difficult, but I think it will add a touch of autumn to whatever I pair these bangles with.

I’ll be back later with some more updates and projects.  I hope you have a lovely week.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

