M.Y.O. Mulled Cider

One of the best things about this time of year is cider.  Sure you can usually get it year round, but it is not the same.  This time of year with the apples in season, the cider(depending on where you get it) is the bees knees.  I would drink it multiple times a day if I didn’t care about a few rotten teeth.

I like it cold, hot, and spiced.  But today I’m going with spiced.  There are a lot of recipes out there to make your own mulling spices. Some recipes call for cardamom and orange peel, or some may call for whole cloves and whole cinnamon.  But I like things easy and quick, so here is what I came up with.

1 tsp ground cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ground allspice, 1/4 tsp ground clove, 1/8 tsp ground ginger.

Mix all the spices together and add, depending on your preference 1/2 to 1 tsp of the mixture to 1 cup cider.  You may be thinking WHAT?!?! You aren’t going to use a sachet?  You’re just going to let all those spices float around while you drink it?  Yes.  Although it would be nice to make your own bags, I think it’s a bit too time consuming and wasteful.  But if I were giving this as a gift, I would totally make my own sachets.

Once you mix your spices and cider, let it simmer on the stove for about a half an hour or you can utilize the microwave, the choice is yours.  Enjoy!

Organization update: Life happened this weekend, as it usually does.  I didn’t get as far as planned with my closet purge.  No worries, I am not detoured.  I did a little and hopefully throughout the week I will do more.  Until next time….

Tagged , ,

One thought on “M.Y.O. Mulled Cider

  1. wow, that sounds sooo good. there’s nothing like a hot, steamy mug of mulled cider on a crisp, fall day!! thanks for the great recipe!

Leave a Reply

